Thermal monocular shootout IR Patrol vs Q14 vs MTM vs Prometheus.

TEXASLAWMAN

Lone Star Boars Owner
LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter

Thanks to *******************, Night Combat Solutions, Armasight, and IR Defense I have many of the latest thermal monocular's and mini thermal monocular's to review and compare here. More may be added as we go along but these are the contenders for now below. From left to right the IR Defense IR Patrol, Armasight Prometheus, Insight MTM, and the Armasight Q14.

The IR Patrol, Prometheus, and Q14 are 640 verions. Since the MTM I have is a 320 version I will just use it in pictures as a size comparison for the most part

Initial impressions: As many of you know I have been using the MTM for a couple of years now it has served me well, it is what I have judged all other monocular's by. As you can see in the pictures above the MTM is no longer the smallest mini thermal in the bunch that title goes to the Q14 now.

Before turning any of them on and just handling them the MTM feels comfortable and is easy to hold for hours (its what I am used to). The Q14 is by far the lightest and easiest to hold out of the group. Its smaller than a pvs-14 you barely even notice it on your helmet or hanging from you neck a true MINI thermal. The IR Patrol and Prometheus are almost identical in size and weight. But the Patrol wins out here, with the Prometheus being about 1/4th inch longer and 1.5 ounces heavier. The strange thing is even though the Prometheus is a tiny bit longer and heavier it feels more balanced in my hand vs the IR Patrol feeling a little front heavy. I do not know how this is going to affect holding it up for long periods in the field yet it may not make any difference.