Sighting in the Pulsar Trail

Discussion in 'Night Vision/Thermal' started by DarkNight, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    So I had my new Trail setting at 50 yds and was hitting the handwarmer dead on. I then set the scope to 100 yds and moved target to 100 yds but couldn't hit the target backing. So I went back & set the scope to 50 yds and shot at the 100 yd target.
    Does anyone have advice on where I'm messing up or how to get the scope zeroed at the 100 yd setting?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Brian Shaffer

    Brian Shaffer Pro Staff Third Coast Thermal SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,331
    Location:
    Forestburg, Texas
    What do you mean you set the scope for 100 yards?
     
    DarkNight likes this.
  3. Rookie

    Rookie LSB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    That confuses me as well. Once you have it zeroed at 50 yards, don't touch anything on the scope. Move the target to 100 yards and see where you're hitting. You should be shooting a little high.
     
    DarkNight and theblakester like this.
  4. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    That's where I was confused, I'm about 4 inches high when I move target to 100 yds. When I went to enter my initial zeroing distance in the scope it was at 50 yds so I was not sure if since I then moved the target to 100 yds if I would have to enter a second zeroing distance at 100 yds.
    Or do I leave the 50 yd zeroing distance in the scope and just adjust the reticle/little crosshairs up to my point of impact at 100 yds?
     
  5. AKay

    AKay LSB Member SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Treat it like a dayscope. What do you do with your guns with a regular scope?
     
    DarkNight likes this.
  6. Wray

    Wray LSB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Gonzales
    I had an issue with mine Sunday as well. My first sighting in was done at 100 yards. Everything went perfect. Sunday I tried to shoot 200 yards and when I added the new distance and saved the impact coordinates I noticed the windage was off by about a foot from the 100 yard setting while switching between 100 and 200. I didn't even modify the windage. I'm hoping I did something wrong and don't have a corrupt firmware issue.
     
    DarkNight likes this.
  7. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    Or let me guess, the Yankee is making this harder than it needs to be....
     
  8. Rookie

    Rookie LSB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Here's what I do.

    Zero at 50 yards. Move target to 100 yards, shoot 3-5 rounds. Check group. It will be high (mine is about to inches high). Move target to 150, shoot 3-5 rounds. Check group. I'm about 1 inch low. I don't shoot anything beyond 150 so I know I can hold dead center at a coyote 25-150 yards and I'll hit the vitals.
     
    DarkNight likes this.
  9. Rookie

    Rookie LSB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Once I'm zeroed at 50 yards, I don't mess with the scope.
     
    DarkNight likes this.
  10. Curly Shuffle

    Curly Shuffle LSB Active Member SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,425
    Location:
    Texas City, Texas
    Zero at what you are comfortable with then shoot at 75, 50, 25 and adjust with hold over or hold under and remember POImpacts for when you are out pork hunting or what ever it is you do out there in the dark.??:) BANG BANG!! You can also print out a ballistics report from a number of places and check it against your rifle and remember 4 distances for MOA and hold over and drop and you are good to go.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2017
    DarkNight likes this.
  11. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    Sounds good, I won't worry about whether the scope is set at 100 or 50 yds but focus on where the POI is at the various yardages. I saw that Brian had a video showing him zeroing at 50 yds but the scope was set to 100 (seen as A100 in the display I believe) so I was curious if there is a wrong way of zeroing the Trail scopes. Will play around a bit and see what I end up with. Merry Christmas to you all when it gets here and thanks for the help!
     
  12. theblakester

    theblakester Got a black belt in keeping it real. LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    Houston
    I get close to zero at 50. Then move to 100 yds. Then try to zero 1.5" high at 100 yds taking 4 or 5 shot groups until I'm satisfied. This keeps me within 2" high or low of My point of aim out past 200 yards.i don't mess with the different distance profiles. I do mess with the different rifle profiles for zeroing on different guns.
     
    DarkNight likes this.
  13. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    Here's my first attempt at recording a coyote. Playback speed is abnormally fast, anyone know how to fix that? I'll get this figured out eventually. Thanks again for all your help!
     
    Curly Shuffle likes this.
  14. pruhdlr

    pruhdlr Cantonment,Fla. SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    Cantonment,Fla.
    AND . . ? . . people ask me why I am still using my 5 year old ATN ThOR . . . . . well,lemme see.
    To the OP - - - > may I please ask,what chambering are you shooting ?? --- pruhdlr
     
  15. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    204 Ruger sir!
     
  16. Brian Shaffer

    Brian Shaffer Pro Staff Third Coast Thermal SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,331
    Location:
    Forestburg, Texas
    Okay, I see where you are having issues. My scope was not set at 100 yards. That isn't a setting. It is a name of the Profile being used, only. It doesn't matter what you call it. It has no impact on where the gun shoots. You can change the number without changing the POI. It is not part of an automated ballistic calculator.

    I had plans to zero at 100 yards and then found that the steel targets at 100 were all about the same temperature as the background and did not stand out as well as the target at 50 and so I used the target at 50. It didn't dawn on me to change the profile name. My apologies.

    The purpose of the profile naming aspect is to serve as a reminder as to which profile you are on and for what distance you may have zeroed the scope for that profile.
     
    DarkNight likes this.
  17. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    I looked at the zeroing screen this morning on the scope and at 50 yds it has a zero and at 100 yds it says 5.4. Is this what you guys see on your scope? I thought it saves x & y coordinates?
     
  18. Brian Shaffer

    Brian Shaffer Pro Staff Third Coast Thermal SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,331
    Location:
    Forestburg, Texas
    You are going to have to post all of these things that you are seeing because your descriptions are not adequate to fully follow what you are trying to describe.

    Yes, the scope saves the X & Y coordinates. You don't have to set them every time you turn on the scope.
     
  19. DarkNight

    DarkNight LSB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Illinois
    Will try to get screen shots, thx for the help.
     
  20. Brian Shaffer

    Brian Shaffer Pro Staff Third Coast Thermal SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,331
    Location:
    Forestburg, Texas
    There is no playback speed on the Trail. That is determined by your viewer or video editor. The Trail's recorded speed is a tad fast, taking about 55 seconds to playback 60 seconds of real time, but yours is showing 4x that amount.

    You are having multiples of things be wrong with your scope, many of which I have never heard of or seen. I suspect this is beyond being a scope issue.
     

Share This Page