New Hog Hunter from Oklahoma

silver star

I am new to this.
Did hunt deer/squirrel's/rabbits, etc. a great deal pre-teen, teen & up thru late 20's.
Then I figured out it was cheaper to buy my meat.
Now on the threshold of 60 and have a luxury fall in my lap.
Re-finding that I love to walk the woods our gun club due to the fact that the club has a hog eradication permit in progress and I have been asked to help.
So I am learning about game cameras, IR night vision and some hog habits.
They like water, corn and my old cooking grease.
I have learned several things very quick from Lone Star Boars YouTube video's.
Two of them have been the Alpha Sow and what can happen when you take her out of a group and leading running pigs with dot.
My ability to master "Search" on a forum sucks.
Currently I am investigating the existence of a database program that will track our multiple camera sightings of hogs. Dates, times, moon phase, pressure and maybe weather changes to build a history in order to determine if it is possible to predict some hog appearances...before the fact?
Or find out if someone has already been down this road and if it is a waste of time.
Thank one and all,
Michael

scrmblr1982cj8

LSB Active Member
LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY
LoneStarBoars Supporter
Welcome!

I've spent hours looking at patterning hogs, but in the end, it was mostly a waste of time. They go where they want, when they want. You can have success with timed feeders, but after the shooting starts, predictability goes out the window.

Lots of skillful hunters on this site, so I'm sure you will learn much from the group.

Ignore a guy named DJ on this site. He thinks he is Buffalo Bill from Silence of the Lambs. Scary stuff!

silver star

So if a guy named DJ gets in my cross hairs...pull the trigger???
Ha!
That is suppose to be a funny to all that is offended.
Disclaimers are so necessary these days.

D

djones