Calling Hogs

Guess

Hog Zombie
SUS VENATOR CLUB
Let me give you a bit of background on me. I’ve been hunting hogs for over 20 years along with many other species of animals {predators 31+ years}. I’m not a very patient person, so I spend a great deal of time trying to figure out how to make animals come to me quick!!!!!!! I can’t stand to sit and watch feeders. I want to cover as much ground as I can and either get on targets or make them come to me quick! I wish I had a dollar back for all the gimmicks and gadgets I’ve bought over the years trying to make me something I wasn’t at the time. I always knew there had to be a way to call hogs. There had to be. Any animal that vocalizes to communicate will respond to a call. It’s just a matter of figuring out what to say and when. I had tried everything with limited success over the years and had just about given up. A strange thing happened over time and guess what I became a better hog hunter without calling. I still had the desire to call them in.
One day while listening to a boar attempting to breed a sow I discovered a few new things. For one I was unable to get to the hogs undetected, so I sat and recorded the sounds with my video camera. I also filmed many boars coming and going from many different directions. This taught me that they were responding to more than just the odor of a sow in heat. They were responding to the sounds as well. I practiced those sounds on an ordinary grunt tube, until my wife was sick of hearing it! A few weeks later as I sat in a bow stand deer hunting, I heard two boars fighting. I was able to call one of those hogs to me several times. Make a long story short I went back to the same area a few days later and killed 7 hogs by calling with an ordinary deer grunt tube.