Finally Crossed the "50" Threshold

diggler1833

LSB Active Member
50 downed and recovered (photographed) hogs that is from thermal hunting. I bet some of you thought that I turned 50...I'm well short of that age...I just look that old after being beat on for so many years, being fueled by caffeine and hate.

Nope. Just finally crossed the 50 dead pigs mark. I'm still a newbie at this. I started about 18 months ago, and had a pretty good dry spell over the summer last year. I'm at 24 recovered and photographed this year, plus another four sure hits, but not recovered. I also got permission to hunt a few other properties, so that helps. I've actually killed 42 on my ranch during these 18 months to include snaring and daylight hunting.

I have learned a lot: 1. Paying attention to wind is the most important thing. 2. All black, as well as desert camo makes you stick out like a sore thumb. 3. Always have spare batteries for everything...and 4. Never pass up a chance to use the bathroom before you head out.

Hoping that by next year I'll have really buckled down on my shooting skills with a thermal, as it is a definite learning experience. At one point in my life I was actually a petty decent shot, but then I started shooting at glowing pigs on a screen.

Maybe I'll learn to make videos that don't suck too.

Ratdog68

LSB Official Story Teller
LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
#4 is some of the best hunting advice I've ever read, and couldn't agree more. Only thing worse than hanging it over a log is... NO log. LOL

J BAR K

Just trying to make a day.
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
Congratulations! To me, it’s a lot of fun. I just can’t get out like I used to, especially at night in the mud. Don’t bounce like I used to. Hang in there and I’ll keep enjoying your videos. Ya done good!

pruhdlr

Cantonment,Fla.
SUS VENATOR CLUB