Zues QD mount loose?

Discussion in 'Optics' started by Dnewcomb929, Apr 29, 2016.

  1. Dnewcomb929

    Dnewcomb929 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Ok, I hope I can get some ideas of how to get my new thermal to tighten up.
    The QD mount on my Zues is loose on the rail when I lock the latches. The latches are adjusted so all the way
    down so that it is tight even when not on the rail of the rifle. I don't know what is out of spec.
    The rocking movement is just enough that you can hear it clicking going side to side, fore and aft isn't perceptible.
    It will also slide fore and aft between the T-marks.
    If it were on a bottom end upper I would point there just due to less confidence in QC, but it's on an LWRC six8 razorback...

    I would attach photos, but I'm a tech idiot and don't know how lol
    Thanks for any help/ guidance
     
  2. FrankT

    FrankT Destin FL LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9,366
    Location:
    Destin FL, lease in Bay County
    have you tried on another rail? Then if the rail is ok try another mount on the Armasight, that will tell you which one has the problem
     
  3. Jhop

    Jhop LSB Active Member SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    929 where are you located at? I bought a couple of BoBro Engineering mounts for the Armasight Zeus 640 3-24x75mm lena from Night Combat Solutions. It's one of the vendors here on lonestarboars.com. It's expensive but a very nice self adjusting mount. Works much better than the Armasight mount does.
     
  4. Homebrewer

    Homebrewer LSB Active Member LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Willow Park, TX
    Same here. I have a pair of BoBro Engineering mounts on my Armasight Zeus Pro 640, 100mm thermal.
    These mounts are solid as a rock.
    The BoBro mounts were installed by Night Combat Solutions.
     
  5. Dnewcomb929

    Dnewcomb929 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    I'm in Krum, just north of Denton. I tried it out on 2 other rails that I have and my 5.56 same on all, if anything it's the tightest
    on the LWRC. I'll look into the BoBro or the Larue, I've heard they're both better @ repeatability for multiple firearms any way.
    Just kinda pisses ya off you pay a few grand for this stuff and the little things are making you pissy about what is a great product.

    Edited cuz fat fingers are tired after just getting off work :)
     
  6. Jhop

    Jhop LSB Active Member SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    I can help you out. I sent you a message.
     
    Dnewcomb929 likes this.
  7. FrankT

    FrankT Destin FL LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9,366
    Location:
    Destin FL, lease in Bay County
    That is the absolute truth!


     
  8. Curly Shuffle

    Curly Shuffle LSB Active Member SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,476
    Location:
    Texas City, Texas
    You might try to readjust the tabs. It sounds like you might have them screwed in to tight and the ratchet part is not catching. If you have them screwed in to much you would be able to press the tabs all the way down with out them catching where they are suppose to. That is about the best way I can describe that. BANG BANG!!
     
  9. Hard_ware

    Hard_ware Here piggy piggy! Deep Deep S. TX.

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Deep Deep South Texas
    I had the same problem. The mount was shipped defective so much for QC on a >$6K thermal, I had to mill it to proper spec to fit a mil spec picatinny rail, and had to mill down the thermal mount as the POI was not close to center of screen in AZ/EL and windage . 13 months later while unit is still under factory warranty I found out the unit was shipped with a 15month out of production core and will cost me $2499.00 to upgrade it which is ridiculous for a 336 core. Send it back and hope for a better one. No more Armasight products for me.
     
  10. rgilbert

    rgilbert LSB Active Member LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Caldwell, Texas
    I've never had this problem with the IR Defense. Hmm
     
    Chopperdrvr likes this.
  11. TEXASLAWMAN

    TEXASLAWMAN Lone Star Boars Owner LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5,477
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Come on man you have used what a handfull of ir defense scopes?

    I've used hundreds of Armasight scopes now without this problem.

    I will say the old mounts were not the best but new Armasight scopes come with American Defense mounts which are very nice. He may have got an older one, or even a defective one but these new mounts are good.
     
    Lancer and FrankT like this.
  12. Dnewcomb929

    Dnewcomb929 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    I'm going to measure up another American Defense mount that I have on a 300 blackout and get the dimensions to have my brother in law mill it down.
    Benefits of having a wife from a machinist family, lots of cnc machines.
    The latch/ lock bar are flat to the mount, I'm speculating about 0.030-0.050" too wide. Need to get off my butt and measure it.
     
  13. rgilbert

    rgilbert LSB Active Member LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Caldwell, Texas
    It was a JOKE! Don't be so thin skinned. lol
     
    Chopperdrvr and Ratdog68 like this.
  14. rgilbert

    rgilbert LSB Active Member LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Caldwell, Texas
    And why do you not capitalize IR Defense and only Armasight? Is there an issue here? Ha ha
     
    Chopperdrvr and Ratdog68 like this.
  15. Lancer

    Lancer LSB Active Member LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    De Leon, Texas
    I've never hunted with an aRmAsIgHt anything but have looked through a few and was impressed, I'm curious what you were told when you let them know that the mount was defective. I would expect prompt action to make it right. But I would certainly give them a chance to fix/replace it before milling, which you probably did. As long as humans are involved there will be mistakes, how companies rectify those mistakes is what makes some stand out.
    Also maybe someone who knows will chime in but I thought the older units didn't need the upgrade????
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2016
  16. TEXASLAWMAN

    TEXASLAWMAN Lone Star Boars Owner LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5,477
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I've listed those reasons many times. Poor video out, poor nuc system are the main reasons.
     
  17. rob072770

    rob072770 Lewisville NC SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Lewisville NC
    I am getting ready to ship the Zeus back for a free upgrade was very happy. The I went insane and bought a 640 Apollo Pro 50 mm I have been zipping rabbit as at a 100 yds for lack of yotes. Mounted to my razorback with a Vortex 1x6 gen2. Heavy with Suppresor
     
  18. TEXASLAWMAN

    TEXASLAWMAN Lone Star Boars Owner LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5,477
    Location:
    TEXAS
    If it does not have the AMD logo on the mount then you have the older mounts.
     
  19. Dnewcomb929

    Dnewcomb929 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    The AMD mounts are reserved for the pro series, I have a standard Zeus model. Been busy with kids end of school and baseball, but am sending photos to them now that I know what they want.
     
  20. Hard_ware

    Hard_ware Here piggy piggy! Deep Deep S. TX.

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Deep Deep South Texas
    I fixed the mount after I had confirmed that it was out of spec, no big deal same day in house service by me :). I should have returned it, not because of problem with mount but I might have gotten another unit with a recent core not the outdated one I received ver2.1 flir stopped shipping that version in may of 2013 (scope purchased in SEPT/OCT 2014). The firmware upgrades to the core offer improved image quality from flir , the application firmware from armasight takes advantage of the performance upgrade from the flir's core's firmware. The core I recieved was from 2013, 2 versions past what flir was currently shipping, armasight websight states ships with latest tau 2 core, which it did not. I did contact them about that in Jan of this year because of the firmware upgrade available (andrew is getting back to me to see if anything can be done as to why unit shipped with older core it's only been 3 months). I did expect action to make it right :(. One of those things that I didn't know but trusted armasight that the unit shipped with the latest core. Contacted them and they want 2499.00 to upgrade it to the latest 336 version 2.7 core, which flir is no longer shipping they are shipping the 2.8 version core o_O

    A lot of money for big boy toys so I will spend it else where with another company. The image from the IRD line is very impressive, blows away the 75mm 336 core from armasight. I did a side by side comparison with some units from *******************, the IRD with the 19mm lens blew away the 75mm 336 unit from armasight. The armasight had washed out images with poor contrast, while the IRD units were crisp and clear. Same humidity in the air.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2016

Share This Page