Which thermal to buy???

akretcop

I just purchased a Zeus Pro 2-8x30 thermal from Armasight Just now testing the scope and I'm thinking I may exchange it for a Zeus Pro 4-16x50. I will be hunting with the scope but also have it for defensive purposes. I'm a retired cop from Alaska so I've done lots of hunting just not with thermal scopes. Any info would be appreciated. My main questions are whether the image will be clearer and will there be a noticeable benefit at longer distances with 16x50 scope.

wigwamitus

LSB Active Member
Currently I have three thermals, a

1x (19mm Armasight Q-14 640(30) )
2x (50mm Pulsar Apex 384(50))
3x (75mm Armasight Zeus 640(30))

The higher the magnification, the better able to detect and identify at longer distances.
The lower the magnification, the wider the field of view and the better able to scan larger areas more quickly at shorter distances.

The larger the lens, the more "information" that will be received by the device, and the more likely to be able to detect/identify in poor conditions.

The higher the resolution of the front end device (640 is higher than 384 or 320) the "clearer" the image will be, all other things being equal.

As a general detection scanner, the 1x is king. As a long range rifle scope, the 3x is king (from amongst my listed devices) as an in between, the 2x is king.

All three have their place.

==
So in your case above, going from 30mm to 50mm will give your device more information and improve the image in poor conditions. You didn't mention the resolution of the front end of your device, 320 or 640. Going from 2x to 4x, will improve long distance targeting ability, but significantly reduce ability to use as a scanner. It will take longer to scan the same area with a 4x than with a 2x.