So I Want To Get An AR and I Need Some Advice

dan11589

Ok, let me lay everything out on the table so everyone knows where I'm coming from. Growing up no one in my family ever hunted. We owned guns, but no one ever shot them or even cleaned them. Fast forward to a few years ago and I woke up one morning and decided that I was going to start hunting. I started with ducks because I have a WMA nearby and it has a lot of ducks and all of the public land around me won't let people use a rifle. Plus a shotgun was a little cheaper and I have zero experience with guns anyway and to be honest balistics and scopes etc. seemed a little out of my realm to start out with. Fast forward a few more years and I join this forum and now I want an AR and have no idea where to start. I figure I have two options that are available to me. I can save my money and eventually purchase an AR complete and ready to go or I can make smaller purcchases of parts and build one up. Either way its going to be a long road to travel before I can get one, but I'm a fairly patient guy. I'm looking for advice on pretty much everything.

FrankT

Destin FL
LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY
LoneStarBoars Supporter
Have an upper in the caliber you want built, heck the lower too. You can go cheap or top shelf but eventually you will end up w the best so might as well start there...only 3-500 difference unless you go LWRC piston.

http://lonestarboars.com/threads/in-stock.2245/

hdfireman

Blackstone Arms
SUS VENATOR CLUB
Vendor
LoneStarBoars Supporter
Agree with Frank in that if you buy cheap you will eventually have more money in one buy adding this or that. If you are going to build one don't go cheap on the barrel or bolt. Check these out http://www.blackstonearms.com/category-s/108.htm and you can call anytime to discuss options or if you just have questions.

Taco

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB