Quieter on a pistol??

DangerRanger

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
So I'm clearly missing something. I just received my tax stamp for my first suppressor: an AAC Prodigy dedicated for .22.

Shooting standard CCI .22 LR ammo, it is making a SIGNIFICANT difference with the noise on my Walther P22.

However when I attach it to my CZ 455 .22 rifle, I can hardly tell if the noise is being reduced or not. Which blows my mind because I figured the longer barrel would be more quiet than the short barrel. But I am very new to the suppressor world.

So what am I missing? Why is there not a clear difference in the rifle noise being reduced with the suppressor? I know when the suppressor is not being used at all, the pistol is WAY louder than the rifle.

What suppressor would you recommend for the rifle?

D

djones

cmon ranger, you know better than that. standard 22 ammo is subsonic in a pistol. i think any 22 ammo is subsonic in a 4" pistol.

try subs in the rifle

DangerRanger

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
cmon ranger, you know better than that. standard 22 ammo is subsonic in a pistol. i think any 22 ammo is subsonic in a 4" pistol.

try subs in the rifle
Yeah but I'm trying hard to avoid subsonic rounds. Not a fan of the ballistics or lack of energy.

I shot standard .22 LR ammo in a Dark Horse Fully Suppressed Barrel once, stupid quiet. I didn't expect this to be as quiet, but was shocked at how there was hardly a difference with or without the suppressor from the CZ with the Prodigy.

Jake

Bandera, Texas
LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
Yeah but I'm trying hard to avoid subsonic rounds. Not a fan of the ballistics or lack of energy.

I shot standard .22 LR ammo in a Dark Horse Fully Suppressed Barrel once, stupid quiet. I didn't expect this to be as quiet, but was shocked at how there was hardly a difference with or without the suppressor from the CZ with the Prodigy.