Problems with Zeus 640 2-16x42 (30 Hz)

YellowHammer

North Alabama
New guy here, I haven't messed with thermal since 2007 (it wasn't impressive). I have plenty of experience with night vision, however. I have been reading some your threads about the Zeus while investigating my own issues.

I finally scraped together enough money to buy my first thermal. The packing date on the box is March 2015. I watched all the youtube videos (thanks TLM) and sprung for the 640 model. I got it Friday and tried it last night. I am sorely disappointed. I cannot get the image to focus. The picture looks good from 10 yards and closer, but anything else is horribly out of focus. This does not look like the videos of the 640 units (or the 336 units for that matter) online.

For example: I cannot identify my neighbor's van 2 doors down. I can't make out the mailbox across the street. Last night I ventured into my backyard (lots of rabbits, birds, groundhog etc) and took a look. I could see a hot object 15 yards out, but it was just a white blur. It took off pretty fast, so I figure it was a rabbit. Birds on the fence 15 yards out are just blurs too. I went with the 640 because I want to see the animals in detail (and a lot farther away than 15 yards). I will be calling Armasight in the morning, but wanted to check with you all and see if you can recognize the issue.

Last edited:

dax2323

Boerne TX
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
did u adjust the focus ring on the front lens and the diopter on the rear objective....ive got the the same optic, having a different issue with mine, Ill be talking to armasight tomorrow as well.

YellowHammer

North Alabama
did u adjust the focus ring on the front lens and the diopter on the rear objective....ive got the the same optic, having a different issue with mine, Ill be talking to armasight tomorrow as well.

Yes, I am adjusting the front & rear focus without much improvement

TEXASLAWMAN

Lone Star Boars Owner