Looking for Help with First Thermal

Amoozer316

I'm one of the lucky few in SW GA that gets to hunt deer on a permit in the peanuts and cotton during growing season. I've been doing this for about 4 years now and the deer have gotten so used to that flashlight coming on that as soon as I hit it they take off. This year I've decided to go the thermal route and THINK I know what I want but would be open to suggestion. I've watched about as many LSB videos as I can so I THINK I know what I want but, I'm definitely brand new to this side of the game so help is appreciated.

Shooting conditions are as follows:

- Most shots are between 200-250 yards
- Open field
- Stable rest (fence post)
- Southern Whitetail from between 80-200lbs
- Shooting to recover and process as well as pest control (would like to save as much meat as possible) so accuracy matters.
- No need at all for video recording capabilities or range finding as I know them all ahead of time

I was initially thinking Pulsar XQ50 for the native 2.8 zoom, however the display resolution is only 640x480.

I'm thinking for what I need the Armasight Zeus 336 3-12x50 60hz is the better option due to having both better base magnification and and 800x600 display.

Looking through a few different regular scopes I would probably run both at 2x zoom which would give me half resolution. So is the Zeus (or something else) the better choice for me here?

While I do realize the 5x20x75 is probably better, it's out of reach for me price range this season when I factor in other expenses.

Mattg1500

LSB Member
I was looking at the same scopes. Im going with the XQ50. PiP, waterproof,384 res compared to 336 of zeus, recording, removable battery pack. Those were some reasons i chose Pulsar. Lots of great info on here and vids of actual use. I hunt Swainsboro,Ga

Amoozer316