Help Aging Boar #1?

81police

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
I've got a chart which shows how to age boar based upon teeth development & wear. But I wanted to get some thoughts from anyone from a technical/veterinary background. I shot this boar a few years back, he weighed in at 300lbs. I'm guessing 5-6 years old? You can see the two teeth in front of his tricuspid are worn down almost completely smooth. The tricuspids themselves don't have sharp peaks.

THOUGHTS FROM OUR EXPERTS???

IMG_20160819_163813634_zpsigoq0ycn.jpg

81police

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
IMG_20160819_163150288_HDR_zpseozbztpl.jpg

81police

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
4861d3c0-ab30-47e9-b765-ab95527b2fd8_zpshdvayxne.jpg

Jake

Bandera, Texas
LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
I am no expert but I'll tell you what the "experts" taught me while I was obtaining my wildlife management degree. You cannot age a feral hog by its teeth like you can a deer. Tooth wear in hogs is dependent on soil makeup. Since hogs are primarily diggers/rooters, most of their food has soil mixed in with it. Therefore the more sand content the soil contains, the faster the teeth wear. A 5 year old hog down on the Norias division of the King Ranch might show the same wear as a 10 y/o from East Texas.

RattlesnakeDan

San Antonio Texas
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
Grinding all that hard corn at the deer feeders down here must make a difference too.

Brian Shaffer

Hog Hunter
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter