Focal length vs Lens (objective) size vs FOV vs Sensor size

Oso Grande

LSB Active Member
LoneStarBoars Supporter
I see what appears to be a lot of misconceptions about lens sizes and focal lengths in regards to thermal and night vision scopes and handheld viewers.

One of my other hobbies is photography and this is a common thing for people to mix up, twist around and generally get lost in that world as well. I am by no means an expert, but I’m happy to see if I can help make things clearer for someone who’s looking and comparing different units.

Let’s get to the basics:
Focal length - The focal length of a lens determines the magnification at which it images distant objects.
Lens size - The diameter of the front lens, often referred to as the objective size
FOV - How much of the world can you see, ie: your field of view
Sensor size - The physical size of your sensor, ex: 320x240, 640x480

Ok, so why does any of this make a difference?

Starting with FOV (field of view)
This is how much of what is in front of you that you can see through the lens. Are you looking through a cardboard tube? Does it feel like one of your eyes is covered, or do you feel like you can see as you do normally with nothing in front of your face?
The FOV is usually measured in degrees. But it is tied directly to the focal length, which is measured in millimeters. The focal length can be looked at as the “zoom” amount. The higher the focal length number the more zoomed in you are. Compare it to looking through a 3x scope vs a 10x scope. It’s the focal length that’s changing when you zoom in on that day scope.

Here are some examples to give you a better idea as to what I’m talking about
focal2_0.jpg

70mm-400mm-FoV.jpg

angles.jpg

Now keep in mind that those pictures are examples and not direct correlation to any scope or imager that you may be looking at. But it should help you understand the concept.

Two more things are the sensor size and the lens size.