Flir PTS 233 firmware update?

Discussion in 'Night Vision/Thermal' started by Tye, Aug 27, 2018.

  1. Brian Shaffer

    Brian Shaffer Pro Staff Third Coast Thermal SUS VENATOR CLUB LoneStarBoars Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,955
    Location:
    Forestburg, Texas
    Today I received an email from US CBUsupport. No text other than all the correspondence between Lana and myself. There were two attachments including a zip file and pdf.

    So this process started on Sept 17, 2018
    and ended today on Oct 22, 2018
     
  2. der Teufel

    der Teufel Livin' the Dream … SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Well, I guess that's something at least.
    Me, I kinda like a little bit of the personal touch. Maybe a couple of sentences of greeting or explanation.

    But, maybe I'm old-fashioned …
     
  3. Wildfowler

    Wildfowler Mis'sippi SUS VENATOR CLUB

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Mis'sippi

    Wow! When I had to send my PTS back to FLIR this year I got it back in less time than it took them to send you an email.

    That blows.
     
    Brian Shaffer likes this.
  4. Bill Martin

    Bill Martin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    So... I have received the PTS 233 update folder from FLIR. I copied the folder to my FLIR directory on the scope. Followed the instructions. No Joy. Scope did not send an "updating" msg nor did it update in background when restarted. So... I tried again but this time unzipped the folder in my FLIR directory first. No joy. Nothing happening. What am I missing here? Help?
     
  5. rustybucket

    rustybucket New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Central MS
    Unzip the folder they sent you. There should be two files with a .BIN extension. Make sure you have new batteries in your scope and copy the two files to your scope's folder. When you unplug it from the computer it should start to update automatically. Some people do one file at a time but I put both on there and it updated each individually and restarted twice.

    I would do a quick format of the scope's storage with the computer THEN copy your two .bin files to it. Make sure your scope is on and not in standby to do this. If it doesn't work restart it. If that doesn't work call FLIR....
     
  6. bamabaxter

    bamabaxter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    I know this is old, but my 536 is doing the same thing. Will not update. Did you have to send it in to FLIR?
     

Share This Page