Baiting new property

Spencer Moon

I’m pretty new to hog hunting, have done a bit of reading here and on Facebook groups and watching Todd’s vids on YouTube.

We have a group of hogs (30-60?) on my uncles farm that are pretty active here in north Texas outside of Dallas. We never see them in the day, and there’s plenty of signs of them in the creek beds and in the thick woods. There probably about 30 cattle on the property that roam around, not much deer activity. My cousin and his friend have hunted the property occasionally but haven’t put a lot of pressure on them. They have identified some of their trails in the thick woods and have setup a feeder/motion light in the woods close to the creek bed with a 20 yd shot.

They also have a tree stand in the woods by another heavy traffic trail with a salt lick 15 yd from the tree stand. Lately they’ve been pretty active at this site which we recently baited. The night we were in the tree stand they came up behind us but must have spooked as they got close to us and turned the direction.

Even though they are frequenting these trails in the woods my gut instinct is to turn off the feeder in the woods and bring the food source to barely outside of the tree line. I’d like to get a section of telephone pole soaked in that chemical y’all recommend next to a bait barrel and motion light. At first I’ll make it extra stinky with the bait recipes I’ve seen here.

Would you recommend a few bait barrels set up so I have a few to check along the property at night? Or would you focus on one spot to bring them to?

In the photo you’ll see the hog feeder in the woods on the top right, the salt lick/tree stand in the woods botttom right, and then there’s a 3 man deer stand that looks over the open meadow labeled DS

Attachments

• 7A15BD5D-9E5B-4805-8829-7E14FC3F6CC2.jpeg
    7A15BD5D-9E5B-4805-8829-7E14FC3F6CC2.jpeg
    155.5 KB · Views: 18

der Teufel

Livin' the Dream …
SUS VENATOR CLUB