ATN 'detection' range

robininni

LSB Member
I find this insulting. ATN claims their ATN THOR HD 1x scope can 'detect' out to 600m. This claim's fineprint is that at 600m you get 1 pixel per 1m of height. So, to detect a person at 600m, which ATN says this scope will do, you would have to notice 2 pixels out of 640x480 (307200 pixels)! This same claim for 'detection' is similar on all of their scopes. This seems absurd. You get a whole 8 pixels per meter size for 'recognition' at 280m. So I guess you can recognize it's a human at 280m using 16 pixels height by maybe 2 or 3 pixels width--again, out of 307200 pixels. Seems ridiculous to base distances of detection, etc. on these type of scenarios.

Bocephus

LSB Member
I can't get into those specifics like you, because I'm a rookie and don't understand it that well. But what model Thor are you referring to that is 1x? Is it the 19mm 384 thor?

I only ask because I just sold a Thor, and have two other buddies that have them, and 600m for detection is easy. But if you a referring to that 19mm sight, I have zero experience with that one.

Brian Shaffer

Hog Hunter
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
I find this insulting. ATN claims their ATN THOR HD 1x scope can 'detect' out to 600m. This claim's fineprint is that at 600m you get 1 pixel per 1m of height. So, to detect a person at 600m, which ATN says this scope will do, you would have to notice 2 pixels out of 640x480 (307200 pixels)! This same claim for 'detection' is similar on all of their scopes. This seems absurd. You get a whole 8 pixels per meter size for 'recognition' at 280m. So I guess you can recognize it's a human at 280m using 16 pixels height by maybe 2 or 3 pixels width--again, out of 307200 pixels. Seems ridiculous to base distances of detection, etc. on these type of scenarios.