30.06 box ammo choice

Canadianhoghunter

LSB Member
Hey guys,

I'm still quite new to hog hunting and I am wondering what box ammunition I should choose for 30.06? Should I use 180gr federal blue box, or 180gr winchester power max bonded, or something else?

Cheers from Canada,

Alex

D

djones

i've shot a few hogs with an '06. i don't think there are too many bad choices. just about any 30 caliber bullet with some oomph on it should work. i shot 180s when i thought i would run into that elusive elk sized pig, but it just gave my head battered brain syndrome. in hindsight i'd just shoot whatever showed decent accuracy in that rifle.

ZenArchery

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
With .06 any standard ammo 150gr+ will DRT hogs.
Boxed ammo my .06 loved Remington 150gr SP.

Canadianhoghunter

LSB Member
i've shot a few hogs with an '06. i don't think there are too many bad choices. just about any 30 caliber bullet with some oomph on it should work. i shot 180s when i thought i would run into that elusive elk sized pig, but it just gave my head battered brain syndrome. in hindsight i'd just shoot whatever showed decent accuracy in that rifle.

Ok, good to know. I'll probably stick with the cheap soft points then. Cheers

Curly Shuffle

LSB Active Member
SUS VENATOR CLUB
LoneStarBoars Supporter
150gr should do the trick with no problems. Save on your shoulder also!! BANG BANG!!!

rgilbert

LSB Active Member
LSB TURKEY BUZZARD PRESERVATION SOCIETY
SUS VENATOR CLUB
Remember not to shoot them behind the shoulder. Through the shoulders, neck or head.

lonepunman

LSB Active Member
LoneStarBoars Supporter
Until recently, I've hunted hogs exclusively with 30.06.

I now use it only as my daylight rifle – but if the recoil wasn't an issue, I would definitely use it with my night vision scope instead of my .270. (The vast majority of my shots are between 70 and 110 yards, so I don't worry about bullet drop).